Designs for Independent Media in Iraq
Home | Agenda | Sponsors | Participants | Framework| Internews in the Middle East | Study of Middle East Media Law

Hussein Abdel-Razek
Assistant General Secretary
T.P.N.U party

Magda Abu-Fadil
Institute for Professional Journalists (IPJ)
Lebanese American University

Jamal Al Adimi
Secretary General
Forum for Civil Society

Dawood Al Basri

Majed Al-Jamil
Al-Watan Newspaper

Hamid Ali al-Kifaey
Iraqi Writer and Journalist

Ali Al-Shawaf
Senior Producer
BBC Arabic Online

Karim Alrawi
Regional Director for Middle East & North Africa
Internews, Washington DC

Hala Ahmed Alumran
Independent Media Consultant

David Anable
International Center for Journalists

Kay Attar

Farid Ayar
Secretary General
Federation of Arab News Agencies

Asla Aydintasbas
Adjunct Fellow
Western Policy Center

Jean-Pierre Bardoul
Project Coordinator, Near East Regional Office
Konrad Adenauer Stiftung

Anthony Borden
Executive Director & Editor
Institute for War & Peace Reporting (IWPR)

Magnus Brooke
Head of Business Management and Implementation
Office of the Director General

Abdellatif Chahboun
Moroccan Organization for Human Rights - OMDH

John Cooley
Author, Independent Lecturer, Consultant and Journalist

Stéphanie David
Program Officer
International Federation for Human Rights - FIDH

Eric Davin
Director of Development
Afghan Media & Culture Center
Association AÏNA

Martin Dawson
DG External Relations
Mediterranean and Middle East Directorate
European Commission

Lorraine Dillon
Executive Assistant to the President
Internews Network

Lloyd Donaldson
Programmes Director
Media Diversity Institute

Salah El Sayed Metwally Eissa
Al Qahira Newspaper

Faisal Elbagir
Freelance Journalist
Media, Information and Research Programme Director, Sudan Organisation Against Torture (SOAT)
Correspondent of Sudan, Reporters Sans Frontieres (RSF)

Vladimir Entin
Klishin and Partners

Said Essoulami
Executive Director
Centre for Media Freedom, Middle East and North Africa (MENA)

Ala Fa'ik
Iraq Media Network
Iraqi Forum for Democracy

Jalal Fawaz
Professional Computer Association (PCA) - Lebanon

Michael Fowler, Esq.
Journalism & Mass Communication Department
The American University in Cairo

Anthony Garrett
Vice President of Policy and Development
Internews Network

Gabriel Giurgiu

Simon Haselock
Media Deputy, High Representative
United Nations Mission in Kosovo (UNMIK)

Gwyneth Henderson
Open Society Institute

Ahmed Hissou
German Broadcast

David Hoffman
Internews Network

Jesper Højberg
Executive Director
International Media Support (IMS)

Ghanim Jawad
Public Relations Office
Al Khoei Foundation

Tomasz Janowski
Senior Correspondent

Eric Johnson
Executive Director
Internews Europe

Mustafa Kadhum

Stephen King
BBC World Service Trust

Carol Klinger
Assistant Editor
All Things Considered
National Public Radio - NPR

Markos Kounalakis
President & Publisher
The Washington Monthly
Board Chair, Internews Network

Angélique Kourounis
Reporters Sans Frontieres (RSF)

George Kouvaras
Editor in Chief
Eleftheros, Typos

Ronald Koven
European Representative
World Press Freedom Committee (WPFC)

Kamal Labidi
Independent Journalist

John Langlois
Senior Media Advisor
Office of Transition Initiatives (OTI)

Salim Lone
Director, News and Media Division
Department of Public Information
United Nations, New York

Anthony Livanios
Hellenic Leadership Institute

Dieter Loraine
Director of Communications
Communications Regulatory Agency (CRA)
BiH Sarajevo Bosnia and Herzegovina, Special Adviser to Press Council

Nedal Mansour
Center for Defending Freedom of Journalists (CDFJ)

Georgios Markopoliotis
EU Representative in Greece

Rebecca Milner
Director of Development
International Center for Journalists

Salah Nasrawi
Iraqi Journalist

Ibrahaim Nawar
Head of the Board of Management
Arab Press Freedom Watch (APFW)

Nizar Nayouf
General Secretary
Arab Organisation for the Defense of Expression and Press Freedom - AODEPF

Bent Nørby Bonde
Managing Director
Baltic Media Centre (BMC)

Khalil Osman
BBC Arabic Online

Siyamend Othman
Media Policy Analyst

Hinca Pandjaitan
Media Law Ombudsperson
The Indonesia Media Law and Policy Centre

George Papagiannis
Director, Radio Operations & Training
Internews Network

Donald W. Pine
Journalist, Media Executive
Center for War, Peace and the News Media

Monroe Price
The Stanhope Centre for Communications Policy Research

Kathleen Reen
Regional Director - SE Asia
Internews Network

Ali Refaie

Robert Reilly
Deputy Director
Office of Reconstruction and Humanitarian Assistance (ORHA)
Indigenous Media for Iraq
Office of the Undersecretary of Defense

Andrei Richter
Moscow Media Law and Policy Institute

Alex Rondos
Hellenic Ministry of Foreign Affairs

George Sadowsky
Executive Director
Global Internet Policy Initiative (GIPI)
Internews Network

Mohammed Hassan Saeed
Writer and Journalist
Iraq First

Mogens Schmidt
Division for Freedom of Expression, Democracy and Peace

Abdel Hussein Shaaban
Arab Human Rights Organization

Ali Shabou
Advisor to the Director
Regional and Technical Cooperation Division
United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat)

Yahia Shukkeir
Editor Secretary for Local Affairs
al Arab al Yawn

Hussain Sinjari
Iraq Institute for Democracy

John Sitilides
Executive Director
Western Policy Center

Patrick Theros
U.S. Qatar Business Council

Vassilis Tsiboukis
IRC Co-Director
U.S. Information Resource Center / Public Affairs
US Embassy Athens

Miron Varouhakis
Associated Press

Lee Woodyear
International Federation of Journalists (IFJ)

Shannon York
Program Associate
Internews Network